2022 Election Campaign: Jon Roberts

(note: sorry there are a couple links below that are not “live”. The forum software’s anit-spam wouldn’t let me post anything with more than two links)

It looks like the FSSF needs board candidates and some of us are heeding the call. I’m not part of the group (yet) of other candidates who have declared so far. I will share (1) about myself and (2) about my experience with volunteer organizations and (3) my personal opinions on viable paths forward for FSSF.

About Jon (that’s me!)

I live in San Antonio, TX with my wife and my two young miniature schnauzer’s.

I’ve been using F# professionally for about the last five years. My wife and I had our four children early in life, I reached 45 years this year and my youngest child started university this last fall (comp sci major heading to a 4.0 in her first semester - yes I’m a very proud papa). I’m about to go through and clean up my repositories on Github and I found bigjonroberts/Flurl.fs, which is probably my first “public” F# endeavors anywhere (which went nowhere and will be cleaned up soon). I’ve been a very day-job workman-oriented F# developer. I have primarily used the language to solve business problems at work. The last couple of years I’ve been building systems using Azure functions written in F# and Farmer to manage/deploy infrastructure to Azure. I have taken on some roles and titles that included some more management and leadership responsibilities at smaller startups the last couple of years and have just recently decided to lean back into coding/architecture/individual-contributor roles (a good sacking will do that). I think that my wife and I are at a place were we can downsize and I will finally have some time to build some OSS projects that I have wanted to create. I’m also dabbling more with front-end concerns that I largely abandoned over 20 years ago and have successfully avoided throughout the rest of my career up till now.