2019 Election Campaign: Jeremy Abbott

Vote for Jeremy (he/him/his)

I’m a senior software engineer at InComm Digital Solutions. I’ve been working with F# since 2014, and have given numerous talks on F# at user groups, conferences (.NET Fringe, Open FSharp, Code on the Beach, Little Rock Tech Fest, F# Conf), and contributed to open source F# projects like Saturn.

At my day job I work on the DevOps team enabling continuous deployment of .NET Core based microservices. I also mentor the team on using functional programming methodologies to write safe, testable, composable software.

You can find me on Twitter at @mrjabbott.

Why I’d Like to be Considered

I’m enthusiastic about promoting F# both as a language, and as an open, welcoming community of programmers. I’ve really appreciated the many outreach efforts supported by the F# Foundation. In particular The FSSF’s mentorship program is incredible as is their partnership with Outreachy.

I am an advocate for making F# accessible to developers of all experience levels. I like to challenge the stereotype that functional programming is only for academics.

I have past experience as an active board member for 501(c)(3) non-profit that focused on advancing equality for LGBT people. During that time I worked in various roles to increase organization visibility, raise awareness about issues important to the organization, and oversee important projects that not only received national attention, but also broke organization fundraising records.

If elected I would like to find more opportunities for the FSSF to support diversity and inclusion efforts. Through these efforts we can find new perspectives on how to increase awareness and adoption of F#.

Thank You for Considering Me

If you have any questions about my experience with non-profits, adopting F#, LGBT activism or anything else, hit me up here, on the F# Foundation slack, or on Twitter.

5 Likes