2019 Election Campaign: Édgar Sánchez Gordón

Who am I

I’m a business application developer from Quito, Ecuador. Ever since a teacher had the curious idea of making us use LISP I’ve been in love with the functional paradigm. During some 15 years, I’ve been a Microsoft Regional Director a team of 175 individuals from around the world who provide Microsoft leaders with customer insights and real-world voices. I think I am reasonably good at giving presentations, which I do on a regular basis, as I tend to talk about F# as much as possible (you can follow me in twitter @edgarsanchez) people in the Latin American region tend to greet me with a “Hey Edgar, are you going to talk about F#” :grin:.

Why am I running

Although I’ve got a good command of functional programming and F#, I have to admit I’m not the strongest tech member of the community, not even close, on the other hand, I’m pretty good at explaining the basics to newcomers. I also cater to the business applications developers -the so-called dark-matter developers, pretty well, I think this is a huge growth opportunity for F#, and I think I will be distinctly useful in this area.

Why Vote for Me?

I am convinced that functional programming boosts developer productivity, enhances software quality, and above all is plain fun to work with, so I am in a quest to help the software world adopt this paradigm. I am dedicated to doing, and encourage others to do, as many posts, videos, presentations, meetings, etc. on FP topics in general, and F# in particular, as possible. If you choose me as a member of the Board of Trustees, I will make the adoption of F#, the growth of the F# developer community my main concern. I see three venues in which we should work: 1) Technical decision makers, so that they use F# in new projects; 2) Academia, so that F# is used in regular courses; 3) Influencing developers from other languages, so that they start using F# themselves. Let’s do this!

2 Likes