2019 Election Campaign: Tomasz Heimowski

Who am I?

I’m a professional developer whose main areas of interest are F# and Functional Programming in general.
As a Senior Software Developer at Datto I apply F# to tackle problems from various areas.
In my free time, apart from contributing to OSS projects and learning new tech stuff, I enjoy lifting weights as well as dancing.

Why am I running?

I believe that Functional Programming is still being underestimated in software industry and that specially applies to F#. My mission is to promote the language as a general-purpose tool for commercial solutions.

Why vote for me?

I plan to achieve my goal with a practical approach, i.e. promote the language with learning resources, deploy serious F# systems for my own employers, as well as help other big players on the market to use F#.
Also, as a member and advocate of SAFE Stack I’d like to see growing adoption for F# as a “full stack” language.

2 Likes

I have 2 questions I’m going to ask each Board candidate to begin - but first, a little background:

Historically, the programs managed by the F# Software Foundation have been managed and operated by a Board member. While it’s great to see Board members be actively involved and hands-on (something I highly encourage!), the downside to this is that sustainability of programs has suffered at times. For example, the Diversity Program has been very quiet over the last year, as none of the current Board members have “stepped up” into that role and taken it over since the previous member decided not to run in 2018. We run the risk of this again this year - Gien, who has been the core enabler of the Mentorship Program, has decided not to run for the Board this year, which will leave that program in limbo until somebody is setup to run it or a new approach is devised.

1. Are there any programs, either existing or new that’d you’d like to see formed, where you would like to take an active role in helping coordinate or enable?