2018 Election Campaign: Gina Maini

Gina Maini
Twitter: @wiredsis

Who even is this chick?

I’m an ex-JavaScript/ex-OCaml developer currently making a living writing F# at Jet as a library and platform engineer. I’ve worked on many systems at Jet: divergence detection, distributed tracing, web APIs, event streaming libraries, and many more-- all in F#. I became familiar with many in the community through my speaking and lectures at meetups. I love the F# community because unlike other places on the interwebz, people here want to help you and get what it means to be inclusive.

Why I’d Like To Be Considered
People who know me know that I am a passionate, little spitfire. I’m honest and I don’t pull punches, which is why I can tell you that Jet has not done enough for the community. As I see it, we have a lot of work to do giving back. We stand a lot to gain by learning from you all here.

We have been negligent in our duties as users of OSS and I’m actively working with others internally to change the culture in a radical way. Myself and others have formed a community of practice internally with executive sponsorship specifically dedicated to Open Source. We have crunched the numbers on developer sentiment in our company and are presenting “dollars and cents” business value and importance of Open Source to the leadership of Jet. We are mobilizing and creating processes around allowing our developers to open source great F# libraries and are currently incubating ideas for how we could engage and mentor newer members of Jet.

Thank You For Your Time And Consideration
If you want to know more about my previous Open Source work in OCaml, why my undergraduate degree is in Music Theatre, or how to toilet train a cat-- or really, anything– feel free to reach out to me on FSSF Slack.

8 Likes

Gina,

Given this: