What benefits do FAKE and PAKET provide over traditional ways?

I’m pretty new to F# and I’m trying to build something using Saturn framework. They’re using ProjectScaffold and in turn FAKE for building, paket for package management.

Why do you think these 2 utilities would help me over traditional ways? What problems do they solve? I did not find any answer on their official websites so I thought I should start a discussion here.

EDIT: By traditional ways I mean running dotnet build and dotnet restore commands.

EDIT 2: I found these 2 related articles which talk about having a custom build system in every project:

http://zutubi.com/products/pulse/articles/buildenlightenment/
https://blog.codinghorror.com/the-f5-key-is-not-a-build-process/

2 Likes

At least for Paket this is a question that has been addressed in the FAQ: https://fsprojects.github.io/Paket/faq.html#I-do-not-understand-why-I-need-Paket-to-manage-my-packages-Why-can-t-I-just-use-NuGet-exe-and-packages-config

1 Like

It looks like to me they both offer more customisation than the standard options, which becomes increasingly important if your project gets large and complicated. Paket allows managing diverse sets of dependencies for example, avoiding (or allowing you to avoid) the annoying version mismatch errors you get with Nuget when you have multiple projects referencing the same library, but different versions.

My personal approach is that if you use dotnet core, just stick with the defaults until you have a need for something more customisable: all my F# work uses MSBuild and Nuget without issue. But I also do most of my F# dev at the low-to-medium size: rarely more than two or three projects, and only half a dozen nuget dependencies (I use CoreRT a bit, and more dependencies means more reflection and more rd.xml issues).

2 Likes

TLDR version:
Paket works really hard to offer “reproducible builds”.
FAKE offers single point of entry for entire build automation.