Training materials idea

I’m a beginner in Machine Learning, I just completed Stanford Coursera classes with Andrew NG.

I’m now looking to play more with real world examples. I’m a big fan of C#, as I have many years working with it. I was looking at F# and the learning curve is just too heavy in order to me to apply novice ML understanding with F# and I will have no choice to start with python first.

It would be great to have something similar to https://www.dataquest.io/ in order to improve the adoption of F# for ML beginner

Do you have other ideas or training materials that I didn’t discovered yet?

I just completed that Andrew Ng course too. And I’m learning Python, although I would prefer to use F# for everything if I could.

I also plan to start this course soon: https://course.fast.ai/

I’m almost done reading this book (with F# examples), which I recommend: https://www.amazon.com/Machine-Learning-Projects-NET-Developers/dp/1430267674

And these links are helpful for anyone who decides to try ML.Net with F#:

Configure F# Interactive to use Microsoft.ML.Net | F# Snippets

Minimal AutoML Binary Classification Sample | F# Snippets

2 Likes

There are a few:

Of course, for Python or R, you get datacamp.com or dataquest.io and that’s due to their immensely large user base and commercial pull. You are not going to get that for F# or Julia. Sites like that make life much more pleasant as you can find professional training in almost any relevant application area quickly with real worked-out examples to follow or to utilise as solution templates. They are also very expensive to set up and maintain/update (content-wise).

The most important platform Microsoft rolled out in the form of ML.NET is strangely C#-ish and has no decent F# wrapper. It could have really helped F# adoption and growth the way Spark did with Scala, but with Microsoft, F# seems to be that ignored in-the-back child that never gets the really cool stuff.
Now to ML: