Is F# a language for me and my purposes?

Hey F# community!

i am not a programmer, i am a system administrator with a small company, who wants to learn how to develop software.

My main focus would be windows based, so a .Net language would be perfect here.
I looked into C#, but i really really can’t stand the syntax. F# on the other side lookes appealing to me.
My question is: What can F# do? F# is always listed as a general purpose language, but can it be more detailed?

If i want to build the following, could f# handle it?

• A Monitoring solution for Windows based clients and servers with an agent installed and a webfrontend for administration. So mainly backend, client and webfrontend development. Can F# do all of this?
  • A web based ticketing tool in Kanban style with drag&drop.
    Same as above, backend logic and webfrontend.

English is not my main language, so i hope you all understand my questions :slight_smile:
Greetings,
Nopp

F# is capable of everything you listed, as well as:

• With the use of Fable, F# can be transpiled into JavaScript for Web-Browsers / Node;
  • With the use of Xamarin, F# can be used for Mobile App development;
  • F# works with ASP.NET and ASP.NET Core out-of-the-box, but things like Suave and Giraffe make life easier;
  • F# can be used with WPF;

So, to summarize: yes, F# can do all of that.

Thank your for your fast answer!

Is there any book or tutorial which step-by-step teaches F# and functional programming itself?
F# is mainly functional i suppose…

I don’t know if there’s a “one-stop shop” for it, but there are a couple I’d recommend right out of the gate:

I would start with Isaac’s book (first one), then move to the one Scott wrote. Scott’s goes much deeper into doing Domain-Driven Design (DDD), whereas Isaac’s will get you going with F# very quickly. (I also recommend you do the projects in Isaac’s book, those are where the real learning happens.)

Thanks for the recommendations.