Domain Modelling in a practical project

Hi pals!

I’m pretty new to F# and Functional Programming, at least from a production perspective.

I’m studying Domain Modeling Made Functional by Scott Wlaschin.
Since I have to put in production a REST API and a Webapp and I want to do it in F# following those principles, which do you think can be the simplest framework for implementing it from a practical perspective?

I thinked of SAFE Stack (actually my first choice), Suave, Websharper or Simple ASP.NET Core…but I have no suffice experience to choice the best solution

Any advice?

Hi,

I’d suggest WebSharper. I’ve been working with it for over 3 years in a fairly large code base now, and it is really good.

See: https://forums.websharper.com/blog/77707

WebSharper is now at version 4.0

You can start with ASP.NET Core and then depending on your level of F# expertise with F# you can either use classes as usual to get a feel for F# or if you are already at that level you can go straight to Giraffe for the functional approach you want to take.

I think this is superiour to Suave, for example, as you can use a lot more community knowledge and official ASP.NET Core documentation is superb.

Note that even if you use classes in F# you can still benefit from domain modelling as in the book with F# type system. I.e. not everything needs to be functional as with Giraffe/Suave. You’ll still be able to enjoy a lot of the benefits of F#.

I would have a play with Giraffe and Saturn and decide what you like.

Giraffe stays close to the ASP.NET APIs whereas Saturn introduces some nice computation expressions over the top of it.