2022 Election Campaign: Michal Nebes

Who am I

My name is Michal Nebes. I lead a small team of F# developers at a major Swiss retailer in Zurich. Apart from that, I enjoy playing my guitars, camping trips, and spending time with my wife and our cat. This is my first time running for the FSSF board.

Why I want to run for the board

We are a group of community members all running together on the same platform, with the same message and the same goals. This group consists of Gus, Michal, Abel and Janne who are running for a position on the board of trustees, and other community members that stand behind us to achieve the goals as described here.

The FSSF is not in a great state. In recent years, we have observed that the output of the board of trustees was relatively limited. The elected members, who are all volunteers, burned out or lost motivation over time, which lead to a high churn rate within the board and many people staying for only one term. It has become clear that the Foundation needs to change somehow going forward.

The first option on the table is an extreme one: shutting down the FSSF. After all, hasn’t it reached its initial goal of creating a self-sustaining community around the F# language? In a sense this is true, the FSSF has been successful in reaching this goal and a lot of its initial core members have moved on.

Our proposal is different: while we acknowledge that the FSSF might no longer be indispensable to the F# community, we think losing the foundation and its unique positioning in the F# ecosystem would be a huge loss nonetheless. One root cause of the problems plaguing the FSSF is an unclear and too broad mission, which leads to a lack of focus and dissatisfaction with the Foundation’s output. New board members usually don’t really know what they are getting into and people often have very different ideas about what the FSSF should or shouldn’t do.