2021 Election Campaign: Houston Haynes

Who I Am

Hello, everyone. My name is Houston Haynes. While I’m fairly new to the F# community I’ve been involved in industrial grade hardware and software production for 30 years. Some of you may have read “What the F(#) is Next?” so I’ll spare the repeat of that or my detailed history, which you can find on my blog. More recently I had the pleasure to present at the “Focus on F#” .NET Conference, and I really enjoyed demonstrating how F# can run on a microcontroller “at the edge”. While IoT represents only one subject of interest, that on-going project is emblematic of my enthusiasm for expanding F#'s technical footprint and engineering mindshare.

Like most of you here I have also lived with the reality of “my ‘chosen’ language is the one I’m payed to use for work”. Fortunately I’m in a situation now where I get to write both C# and F# for a living and continue learning from talented coworkers, some of whom frequent these forums. While I continue to learn about F# at deeper levels I can take some early credit for successful advocacy. I’ve spent some time with Akka NET and nudged its founder, Aaron Stannard about the advantages of an updated F# implementation. The result of that can be seen here and here. And while I hope to contribute to that work later this year, there are other projects and broader topics that also have my attention. That, in essence, is why I am asking for your vote.

Why I Am Running

I’m the beneficiary of the time and patience offered by many in the F# Slack. And for that effort I feel like I owe something back to the community, if that is seen to be of value. And beyond that I also believe that .NET and F# are at their own points of inflection, and both would benefit from a fresh perspective. As many have discussed in this forum and others, education and training is a major challenge. That’s because everyone approaches F# from a different background, and often with different goals.