2019 Election Campaign: Zaid Ajaj

Who am I?

My name is Zaid Ajaj, 22 years old and self-taught software engineer working at eSightMonitoring. Currently located in the beautiful city of Nijmegen in the Netherlands. I am passionate just about anything that has to do with programming. I was always fascinated by programming languages and how learning one can change the way you think just like natural languages! This is the reason that I have tried and learned many languages from weird Lisps up to abstract Haskell but finally found my sweet spot with F#. At first, I couldn’t build anything useful with F#, all I could write was a couple of functions that churn through numbers but when I got into OSS, I saw the potential: instead of building applications in F#, I could build tools for other developers to make their life easier and this is what I have been doing for the last couple of years. I am author of many F# libraries, both for dotnet and Fable, some of which you might already be using. Recently I have been mainly involved with the Fable community and it’s ecosystem. Went to FableConf as a speaker where I talked about building web apps with Elmish. Recently gave a talk about Fable in Eindhoven here the in Netherlands. You can follow my github or twitter account @zaid-ajaj to see the latest stuff I have been working on.

When I am not programming, I love to go out my friends. Festivals in Nijmegen are simply the best. I have been a mentor for Erasmus and master international students who came to study in Nijmegen. I am an amateur dancer, learning hip-hop and modern jazz. I enjoy playing counter strike when I have some spare time.

Why I’d like to be on the board