Relational Databases access questions

Hi,

I am new to F# and I am trying to evaluate the best data access method for two web applications:

• one written in C#, it accesses a SQL Server 2008 database via EF (database first model). I want to transition gradually to F# (re-writing the app in F# is out of the question). I was wondering what would the best way to access the data from the F# code. A project is under way to upgrade to SQL Server 2017 or 2019, so using FSharp.Data.SqlClient would be an option.

• a hobby project that accesses a small PostgreSql database.

I am a bit overwhelmed by the multitude of choices. I guess F# follows into the footsteps of Microsoft solutions: Linq-to-Sql, EF & Ado.Net.

Here are my questions:

1. Is FSharp.Data.SqlClient an actively supported library, now and in the future? I just do not want to use it just to find out two years later that the library is not supported anymore. I see this happening a lot in the open source world, where developers love to come up with new ideas, and creation of new libraries is highly favoured to grunt work that maintenance involves. I like it a lot because I like SQL :wink: and it gives me access to the raw power of SQL.

2. In your experience, what would make more sense in a C#/F# hybrid web application that already uses EF: to piggyback on the existing EF db context even in F# or have F# use its own method via SQLProvider or SQLClient?

3. I experimented a bit in linqpad with SQLProvider connected to large database - and experienced some delays when I ran simple F# code to query the database. I feel uneasy about this model where I have a TypeProvider that magically reverse engineers the database, process that I have little control over. There are all sorts of questions:

• when does it happen: does it happen at compile time, does it happen in the editor (I use VS 2017)
  • what happens if I modify the database - how do I trigger a refresh in the editor or does it poll