MongoDB: how to use it in F#, any users here?

I am trying to figure out how to use MongoDB in F#. As far as I can see, the .Net driver is really C# friendly, but it is giving me hard time in F#.

The issue I have, just for start, is to use F# types to define documents, example:

type NoteDocument =
  { _id: string
    content: string
    operator_id: string
    customer_id: string option
  }

Trouble is, the BSON serializer built in does not understand the F#'s optional and this is just the very beginning of my journey…

There is almost no search results of “mongodb f#” – like queries, most of them are very old or reference the https://github.com/tkellogg/MongoDB.FSharp which is not maintained any more.

So, maybe you have something to help me start with F# and MongoDB? Any ideas, tips’ n tricks?

I’m pretty new to F#, but isn’t this a case of creating a domain transfer function that understands your records and other types on one side, and the things that the DB understands on the other, and figuring out the best way to translate between them?
For example, if your customer ID is optional, then when you serialize it you’d handle the two Option cases at that point. You’d do the same thing on deserialization.
I don’t know much about interacting with databases at this point, so maybe it’s normal for a module to handle this sort of thing in the background so that you don’t have to do it manually, but it seems likely it’s being done one way or the other.

Welcome to the club :slight_smile: