Long living programs

Hi,
I’m pretty new to F# coming from C#. I have done some tutorials like “Handling a purchase request”.
In those examples a basket is created, some methods are provided to add/remove items, validation takes place, data is sent to some services to send email etc, order is persisted, basket dies -> done.

What I don’t get is how I would do/design a longer living program. Say a “Diagram designer”. The diagram designer would consist of a lot of different items like shapes, connection lines, texts, images, drawings etc.
Would I start with a huge aggregate root like “Project”? And every change (e.g. add a shape) would lead to a new project? Or would there be some lists defined holding all the items and there is no “Project” at all?

Where do all the different items live in a functional program?

Sorry, if this is a very broad question. But it’s something I really don’t get in my head.

Thx,
Sven

Hi @Sven. Your question is one I struggled with when I was learning functional programming too - I am unsure how common it is, but ultimately ‘just a single immutable model that becomes a different model’ doesnt seem to work with anything that might have to, say, wait for user input events etc.

There are two ways I’ve used and seen to resolve this, and the first might be the easiest: you want to look up a pattern called “functional core, imperative shell”. Your outermost code might include a mutable ‘state’ variable that contains the updated functional model. Your logic is all functional, translating this state to a new state which the outer shell then stores in the mutable variable etc. The outer shell would handle listening for input, persisting to DB etc, all the stuff that require side effects or involve systems you don’t control (like time). Its kind of the ‘best of both worlds’ pattern, particularly in F#, where you can do functional programming, OO programming, purely imperative etc all relatively easily.