How do I get a specific number of items from a collection containing the repeated items from another collection?

Given a collection of items, how do I return a (possibly repeated) collection containing those individual items, in the order they are given in the original collection, but limited to a specific total number of items?

Apologies for the weird wording of the question but I couldn’t think of a more succinct way of saying it.

This is my first time asking a question in the forums and I’ve still got a lot to learn about F# (again).

With this definition:

type Thingy =
 | Doodah
 | Whatsit

I would like to create a collection (doesn’t need to be a sequence) of items, such as
let items = seq { Doodah; Whatsit } // Number of items must be at least one.

With a ‘limiting value’ such as:
let number = 7 // Could be any integer value greater than zero.

And then I would like to create a collection (preferably a sequence but doesn’t have to be) which would be as follows:
{ Doodah; Whatsit; Doodah; Whatsit; Doodah; Whatsit; Doodah } // Note: There’s no ‘Whatsit’ at the end, 7 items only.
… where the number of items in the resultant collection is the number in the number value.

I’ve managed to cobble together this code:
let oneByOne items number = seq {for _ in 1..number do yield! items } |> Seq.take number
… which works, but I think it looks ‘nasty’ (and I’m worried that it could be ‘generating’ more values than it returns, but don’t know how to check).

Is there a better way of doing this?
Is there a ‘shortcut’ version when I know there will only be two items in the original collection?
Is there a particular set of functions that I should be learning more about for this sort of thing?

I’ve done quite a bit of web searching but can’t find anything relevant.

Welcome GarryP!

It’s actually pretty easy to check what values are being generated, by just creating a seq that prints on each value:

let xs = seq {
  for i in 1 .. 2 do
    printfn "producing %i" i