F# scripting, is this a supported use case?

Hi,

I am very new to the .net world, as a development platform
But I used Perl5 and CPAN in the past, is this is what I am comparing to

At a high level (and honestly I only understand it at a high level)

For Perl, you can have multiple Perl interpreters installed on your computer
but usually only one active Perl interpreter, or you can usually execute just one depending on how you configured your Path

When you use CPAN, it installs a Package for that active Perl interpreter,
if you are using a brew like environment and want to use a package, you usually need to install it again for that interpreter

And if you distribute a script, usually you upload it to CPAN, and configure your script in package, and if anyone want to use your script, he can download it from CPAN, which will in turn make sure that all the dependencies are installed

If uploading to CPAN is not an option, you can create a simple custom script, that run some CPAN command that will install the dependencies and ask your script user to make sure to install all the dependencies before running your script

Also if your script user doesnt have Perl at all installed, you can use tools like Par Packer, to package a Perl interpreter and all the dependencies and and your script all in one executable

Sorry for the long Perl intro, but, again, this is what I am comparing to

Now, coming to .Net, and I am focused on .Net core, since its portable, and seems to be recommended even on windows for new stuff

Using the dotnet command it seems
I can install packages, but it seems that at this requires to be done within the context of a project
I am not really sure where the packages are installed, or if they are shared, and I am not even sure how can this work if you have multiple dotnet version on your computer

But, it doesnt seem that you just install a package to be used by scripts that are not in a project